Ruby Australia SGM Minutes

Held: Rails Camp, Springbrook QLD, June 16, 2012 4PM

Committee Members Present


Other Attendees

1) Membership

All attendees to Rails camps are given automatic membership

2) Last meeting minutes

The President pointed members to the minutes of the last meeting on ideagora.

3) Reports

The President

The organisation has now been established. Making progress towards aims.

Thanks ben s and david good lad for getting the website up. Thanks to Richie for his establishing work. Thanks to Sebastian in work as treasurer. thanks to Nigel for Rails camp 11. Warren Seen has agreed to organise the next camp in Tasmania. Venue has been booked near sorel for the 16th to the 19th of Nov, 2012.

Committee Status

The Secretary

The Treasurer



No other nominations.

Keith declared Nigel as the president.

Nominations for VP

No other nominations. Declared.


No other nominations. Daniel will be the secretary.


Sebastian will continue.


Daniel Draper nominated as Warren Seen. Seconded by Jason Crane

No other nominations


David Goodlad nominated himself. Steven Ringo nominated himself.

Steven talked about what he could offer the association. David did also. Mentioned that he built the original site.

Keith asked if members were happy to vote by show of hands.

David voted in by show of hands.

Other Business

Keith asked by a member about the Ruby conference. Cory Haines and Aaron Patterson will be keynote speakers.

Thursday and Friday will be the main conference days but considering Wednesday as a tutorial day.

Basic site set up and twitter rubyconf_au

Venue is the Jasper Hotel in Melbourne.

Have established a partnership with Yow. Sabine Wolf will be assisting. This is in a similar way to what Swipeconf did in 2011.

Questions regarding theme. Will the conf be technically focussed? Corporate/Business? How narrow will the conf be - very much about Ruby or more inclusion of JS/CoffeeScript etc.

Talk proposals will probably open up in August 2012.

There will be two conference tracks.

Key organisers at present are:

Next steps:


No other business.

Meeting closed 4:30pm.